Sunday, December 09, 2007

Dhyana Gita 4: Transcendence of the Three Gunas

  1. The bond of the Gunas: The nature of Sattva, Rajas and Tamas and their bondage [14(5-8)].

  2. The growth of the Gunas: The growth of Sattva, Rajas and Tamas and its results [14(11-13),14(18)].

  3. The function of the three Gunas:

    1. Knowledge: Three kinds of Knowledge [18(20-22)].
    2. Happiness: Three kinds of happiness [18(37-39)].
    3. Intellect: Three kinds of intellect [18(30-32)].
    4. Doer: Three kinds of doer [18(26-28)].
    5. Food: Three kinds of food [17(8-10)].
    6. Penance: Three kinds of penance [17(17-19)].
    7. Charity: Three kinds of charity [17(20-22)].
    8. Renunciation: Three kinds of renunciation [18(7-9)].

  4. Predominance of Gunas:

    1. Even wise men are required to behave in conformity with nature only [3(33)].
    2. There is no object in these three worlds, which is not caught up in the three Gunas [18(40)].

  5. Transcendence of the triple Gunas: This transcendence can be attained only through unswerving Yoga of Devotion [14(20), 14(24-26)].

Om Tat Sat!

No comments: